CM Listline: Multichannel Marketing to Investors

Posted on by Beth Negus Viveiros

Driven by what we do best, many marketers continue to rely on the same sales and marketing channels for new customer acquisition. Before we judge too harshly, consider the even greater population of marketers flocking to new media channels with little accountability, and no consideration given to the cross-channel implications.

Experienced marketers agree that it’s time to break out of the silos and take a fresh look at diversified marketing, but it’s really difficult to fit the pieces together and see the big picture. Why? There are different contacts, processes and marketplace dynamics at play when you step into the world of online advertising. Plus, much of the margin gets stripped away in the digital supply chain.

Don’t get me wrong, referral fees are warranted for bringing demand and supply together—but how many commissionable entities really need to be involved in selling ad space? What the marketplace needs is the aggregation of multichannel media inventory with an online storefront, and to give media buyers the right tools for efficient research, planning and execution.

For example, if you want to reach an audience of high net worth prospects, you may find that a diversified media portfolio is your best way to capture their attention. Disciplined investors not only understand the fundamentals of diversification and risk management, they also establish long-term goals that are often aggressive.

So wouldn’t we, as marketers, apply the same fundamentals when trying to reach them? Savvy investors need to be on the lookout for new opportunities and optimization strategies to maximize growth potential, so an integrated multichannel marketing mix may be worth the investment. And most of the top publishers have their online advertising solutions indexed now, so you should be able to get a quality multichannel result set from your media searches.

Financial Times
Audience Information: 29,721 active U.S. subscribers, 1.3 million mobile visitors per month
Direct Mail List Contact: Kroll Direct Marketing, Gwen Coryell, gwen@krolldirect.com, (609) 275-2900
Online Advertising Contact: Financial Times, Gordon Kerr, gordon.kerr@ft.com, (212) 641-6332

Forbes
Audience Information: 936,257 active subscribers, 871,100 email addresses
Direct Mail List Contact: Specialists Marketing Services, Cyndi Lee, cyndilee@sms-inc.com, (201) 865-5800, ext.2203
Email List Contact: MeritDirect, Craig Albanese, calbanese@meritdirect.com, (914) 368-1000

Fortune/CNNMoney.com
Audience Information: 586,886 active U.S. subscribers (Fortune Magazine), 9 million unique visitors per month
Direct Mail List Contact: Infogroup, Kerry Bergeron, kbergeron@infogroup.com, (402) 836-5150
Online Advertising Contact: Time Inc., Karim Bayard, karim_bayard@timeinc.com, (212) 522-1486

SmartMoney
Audience Information: 912,201 active U.S. subscribers, 850,000 online (spend average of 80 minutes per issue)
Direct Mail List Contact: American List Counsel, Inc., Tim Hickman, timothy.hickman@alc.com, (609) 580-2611
Online Advertising Contact: The Wall Street Journal, Mark Fishkin, mark.fishkin@wsj.com, (617) 654-6882

The Wall Street Journal
Audience Information: 1,250,498 active subscribers, 11.2 million unique visitors per month
Direct Mail List Contact: American List Counsel, Inc., Tim Hickman, timothy.hickman@alc.com, (609) 580-2611
Online Advertising Contact: The Wall Street Journal, Mark Fishkin, mark.fishkin@wsj.com, (617) 654-6882

Data cards for these are available from www.nextmark.com

Chris DeMartine (http://www.linkedin.com/in/chrisdemartine) is director of business development at NextMark.

 

More

Related Posts

Chief Marketer Videos

by Patty Odell

Campbell’s Chunky Soup, the Official Soup Sponsor of the NFL, has launched its latest brand platform: “Champions of Chunky.”  The campaign is a modern, updated revival of the classic  Mama’s Boy campaign, which first aired in 1997 and last ran in 2014. 

	
        

PRO Awards

	
        

CHIEF MARKETER 200