The Del Polito Letter: Close Encounters of the Postal Kind

Posted on by Chief Marketer Staff

Over a decade ago, a group of postal geeks from around the world got together to share their knowledge and experience of the wonderful, wacky art of postal regulatory economics. The meeting was organized by two academicians whose names are now well-known in postal circles: Michael A. Crew of Rutgers University in New Jersey and Paul R. Kleindorfer of the Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania.

The first Conference on Postal Economics and Regulation was held in England back in 1990. The conferences have been an annual event ever since in a number of different international venues. The next Conference on Postal and Delivery Economics (the name the gathering goes by these days) will be in Toledo, Spain and will run from June 4-7, 2003.

Almost all the leading post offices and express carriers sponsor or attend this conference. The United States is home to several of these sponsors, most notable among them the U.S. Postal Service and the Postal Rate Commission.

Several other U.S. enterprises and organizations also serve as sponsors, including the Association for Postal Commerce and PostCom members such as R.R. Donnelley and Sons, Siemens Dematic, Pitney Bowes, United Parcel Service and Federal Express. The complete list of sponsors reads like a who’s who of the postal world.

Now, those who have never been to any of these conferences might be tempted to call them


Related Posts

Chief Marketer Videos

by Chief Marketer Staff

“Trapped in Advertising” sounds like a hashtag you might use after a bad day at work, but for Pringles and Adult Swim, it was a year-long, pop culture-forward campaign aimed at ad-averse 18- to 35-year-old “Rick and Morty” fans. The goal was to sustain engagement and become part of the cultural conversation in order to…


PRO Awards


Click here to view the 2021 winners.
Information on 2022 coming soon!

CHIEF MARKETER 200 Winners Announced

CM 200

Click here to to view the full list of the 2022 winners!